Home
joint promotion

 


Yoga Moon Days 2016


new moon    full moon
 

 
January 9 (Saturday)
  January 23 (Saturday)
  February 8 (Monday)
  February 22 (Monday)
  March 8 (Tuesday)
  March 22 (Tuesday)
  April 6 (Wednesday)
  April 21 (Thursday)
  May 6 (Friday)
  May 21 (Saturday)
  June 4 (Saturday)
  June 19 (Sunday)
  July 3 (Sunday)
  July 19 (Tuesday)
  August 2 (Tuesday)
  August 17 (Wednesday)
  August 31 (Wednesday)
  September 16 (Friday)
  September 30 (Friday)
  October 15 (Saturday)
  October 30 (Sunday)
  November 14 (
Monday)
  November 28 (Monday)
  December 13 (Tuesday)
  December 28 (Wednesday)

 

 

Full Moon and New Moon days of Ashtanga Yoga tradition

 

 

Like all things of a watery nature (human beings are about 70% water), we are affected by the phases of the moon. The phases of the moon are determined by the moon relative position to the sun. Full moons occur when they are in opposition and new moons when they are in conjunction. Both sun and moon exert a gravitational pull on the earth. Their relative positions create different energetic experiences that can be compared to the breath cycle.

 

The full moon energy corresponds to the end of inhalation when the force of Prana is greatest. This is an expansive, upward moving force that makes us feel energetic and emotional, but not well grounded. The Upanishads state that the main Prana lives in the head. During the full moon we tend to be more headstrong.

 

The new moon energy corresponds to the end of exhalation when the force of Apana is greatest. Apana is a contracting, downward moving force that makes us feel calm and grounded, but dense and disinclined towards physical exertion.

 

The Farmers Almanac recommends planting seeds at the new moon when the rooting force is strongest and transplanting at the full moon when the flowering force is strongest.

 

Practicing Ashtanga Yoga over time makes us more attuned to natural cycles. Observing moon days is one way to recognize and honor the rhythms of nature so we can live in greater harmony with it.

 

Namaste,

Kenny Choi

Josephine Yu


 Back to previous page


Enquiry or booking: (852) 2522 0038 / email: yogaplace@hongkongyoga.com

Copyrights © 2017 Yoga Place. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Designed by Josephine YU.